My Opinion: How OCD and other problems are seen in society

Now I know that some of you will disagree with this(so I feel rather unsafe about posting this but I must get my message across), but we all have a right to our own opinion, so here is mine.
Basically, I think OCD and other types of disorders are thought of completely differently to those in society who have no connection with them. They are not seen as medical issues, and are used more as adjectives. It is hard for us to say to someone “I suffer with OCD” because it’s likely that they will reply with “Oh I know how you feel, I need to have everything clean and in a certain order because if I don’t it annoys me”. This drives me mad, people with OCD don’t clean or have things in order because it annoys us, we do it because think something bad will happen to loved ones if we don’t. So it’s hard for people with OCD to come open about our issues. And I highly respect people who have no connection with OCD or any other disorders who understand the things we go through and don’t use OCD or any other form of medical issue as an adjective. This photo shows how some issues are used in the wrong way. I know some may disagree with this, but this is just what I think, society is a mean and dangerous place, especially for some people. I thank you for reading this, and I hope you understand what I mean.
And to add on, fashion brands have stared using mental and eating disorders as something to put on clothing. I have never been so angry at this before, it’s almost as if the designers don’t give one about these issues! I do not want to live in a world where it is considered fashionable to have Depression written all over a shirt. It really does anger and upset me that I live in a world that does this that I just can’t explain how I feel about this! I’m going to finish before I go on a full rant. But one last thing, just please help try and get rid of these clothes, it’s just wrong.

20140105-101943 PM.jpg

Leave a Reply

